THE 2018 AUTOMOTIVE HERITAGE JOURNALISM AWARDS will be presented at the Concours d’Elegance of America at The Inn at St. John’s, Plymouth, MI, on July 29, 2018, hosted by the Concours, Brembo and the National Automotive History Collection at the Detroit Public Library.

    According to awards producer, Steve Purdy, “We are celebrating the importance of automotive history and culture; classic, antique and collector vehicles; automotive enthusiasm and related topics by presenting an extraordinary series of awards during the Concours d’Elegance of America (www.concoursusa.org). The Automotive Heritage Journalism Awards, one of four competitions under the AHA umbrella, will focus on the best-told stories in a variety of categories honoring works presented for consumption in calendar 2017, without regard to media platform or audience.”

    Entry Fee: $50. Entry Deadline: June 30, 2018. Winners determined: July 15, 2018

    Details at : https://autoheritageawards.com/journalism-awards-2018/**

     Automotive Heritage Awards program includes:

     Automotive Heritage Journalism Awards – 10 categories define nuances within automotive heritage topics. Submissions, judging and administration are all online with simple entry process. Winners will be those who tell the best story without regard to media platform.

     Concept Vehicle of the Year will honor design excellence among concept vehicles revealed to the public during the 2017-2018 auto show season. The Society of Automotive Historians, led by Brian Baker, is managing this one with leading designers judging eligible vehicles.

    Future Concept Vehicle of the Year is an award bestowed by the Friends of the National Automotive History Collection at the Detroit Public Library for that new vehicle that will most likely be seen at car shows 25 years hence.

    Lifetime Achievement Award honors someone for whom a substantial part of his or her career has been devoted to automotive heritage and who made the most impact with their work. This selection will be made, as much as possible, by past recipients and is managed by Tony Swan, a past honoree. A permanent display of all the Lifetime Achievement winners will be installed in the LeMay-America’s Car Museum. Information concerning the award is available on the AHA website.

    Journalism entries will be judged by panels of accomplished journalists led by Brian Baker, Society of Automotive Historians. Judging criteria favor the stories best told - overall quality, significance, precision, journalistic integrity and aesthetics.

    Lead sponsors: The Concours d’Elegance of America at St. John’s, Brembo and the National Automotive History Collection at the Detroit Public Library.

    Other sponsors: Motor Cities National Heritage Area; Society of Automotive Historians; America’s Automotive Trust; LeMay: America’s Car Museum; the Individual Communicators Network (ICN).

    Alex Buchan, renowned automotive fine art sculpture, is creating trophies for the Lifetime Achievement Award based on busts of Louis Chevrolet. The larger version of the sculpture will be ensconced in a special display at the LeMay Museum next to the prestigious Bulgari Award and will have all past winners’ names inscribed.

    Master of Ceremonies is automotive heritage expert, Ed Lucas, the original voice of the Meadow Brook Concours d’Elegance.

    AHA is also seeking award submissions. In addition, sponsorship opportunities are available from $100 to $3500 and are a cost-effective means to communicate your company’s unique automotive story to a defined targeted audience of auto industry journalists and historians during one of the country’s most prestigious automobile events, now celebrating its 40th year in our area. For additional information regarding program support and partnerships, please contact AWAF member, Angie Bournias, at 313-881-3021; bournias79@comcast.net